Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sand grain memories…
They seem friendly to me, this
Table of strangers

Author’s Notes…

Each day of this Weekly Writing Challenge by The Daily Post about haiku poetry, I chose something to write about an event which struck me on that day.  These last few years, holidays are always difficult with my grandfather.  His Alzheimer’s has taken a sharp turn for the worse these last five years, and it has been a struggle.  My grandmother is his primary caregiver despite her own difficulties.  When he comes to visit, there are many re-introductions and repeated conversations, which is to be expected of course.  What helps everyone be patient with him is to be aware of the confusion and stress he has to deal with everywhere he goes and with every person he meets.  I wrote this haiku from what I imagine as his point of view.

Please check out my previous haiku posts for this WWC!
That Frozen Instant – Haiku Catchoo!
Slick Speed Game – Haiku Catchoo! (Round Two)
Winter Warmth – Haiku Catchoo! (Part III)

