Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Labyrinth Mandala July 2014

 

Last night I had the privilege of attending a workshop by Maureen Wolverton at The Coptic Center about Finding the Center: The Search for the Archetypal Self.  The main focus of the workshop was to draw a labyrinth, seek out this labyrinth in meditation, and charge this internal labyrinth with your personal energy to reach your ‘immovable center’.  This center refers to Jung’s concept of the archetype of Self, the archetype of wholeness.  Afterwards we painted within the circle of a mandala to express aspects of our meditation experience from this idea of wholeness, with the circle serving as the infinite yet whole container for these experiences.

My Simple Labyrinth DesignI chose a simple labyrinth design so I could easily trace the path with my mind’s eye.  Besides activating this labyrinth with my energy, my individual intent for this meditation was to find ‘my’ symbol.  As seen in the center of the colorful mandala up above, it was given to me.  Though a very simple symbol, it demonstrates much about how I operate and the role I feel I am here to serve in for this lifetime.  In its reflective shape I see represented a name given to me in a Sacred Grove meditation, scáthán (said ‘s-Cah-han’), meaning ‘mirror’ in Irish.  I also see ‘as above, so below’ figuring in the symbol.  Being rather empathic, I tend to reflect the emotions around me without even realizing it sometimes.

In addition to the symbol itself, I was given the distinct impression of scenting cinnamon in the air during the meditation.  This seemed really random at first, but after doing a cursory search on the history of cinnamon I found that cinnamon has been incorporated into very valuable, probably sacred mixtures such as for anointing important individuals both living and dead.  Even the shape of cinnamon sticks shows similar curls to the ones in the symbol.

It will be interesting to continue exploring the significance of this symbol and all the other things I gained from this wonderful workshop.

 

