Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I had just finished reading the Weekly Photo Challenge: Ephemeral when I looked up and noticed a candle on the anima/animus altar that had been lit earlier this afternoon was still burning.  As I stood up and moved closer, I thought about how the shape of the unmelted outsides and the molten insides surrounding the wick were very ephemeral.  If I let the candle burn longer, the overall shape of the candle would continue to change, and blowing the candle out would allow the molten wax to cool thus losing the reflection of the tiny flame.  Each of the key elements of the photo had to remain as they were in that moment to have this image, fitting very closely to the idea of ephemeral as The Daily Post described it.

Ephemeral Flame

click image for larger view

Will probably be posting more photos under this Weekly Photo Challenge theme over the course of the next week.

~A

