Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Beauteously Creepy

click to view larger

In a list of the top 10 creepiest things, I am fairly certain most people would add insects and arachnids.  This photo of the brilliantly-colored Venusta Orchard Spider immediately came to my mind when I saw this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Creepy from The Daily Post.  I had the unfortunate luck to walk right into this creature’s elaborate work and subsequently acquire her as a passenger.  Caught between panic at her proximity and awe at her beautiful colors, I froze for several long moments.  My brain slowly regained its reasoning functions and finally decided it was completely unnecessary to hurt the creature for my blunder.  Using a stick, I very carefully removed her from my shirt and coaxed her back onto a tree her webbing had been attached to.  When she didn’t immediately skitter off, it seemed like a good idea to get some photos of this stunning, if creepy, acquaintance and was pleased with the results.  It was rather more difficult than I first imagined it would be to try and capture her iridescent colors and delicate shapes, but it was well worth the effort I think.

~*~

