Tags

, , , , , , ,

Family, Lights in the Darkness

Family, Lights in the Darkness – click to view larger

In response to The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Now, I reflect on how I am thankful for the family that are still with me today.

Right now in the Northern Hemisphere, we are in the midst of the darkest days of the year; the sun rises late in the morning and sets early in the evening.  All the better to see the fanciful displays of seasonal lights some people decorate their homes with.  Some people enjoy the blinking and multi-colored decorations, but my family prefers the simplicity of white lights.  I love it that every year my dad puts in hours of effort to bathe the front and side of our house in holiday glow.

Many here in the US are experiencing unusually warm weather for this time of year; I think it is a relief compared to the brutal cold of the past two winters.  Even so, I worry about the changes that appear to be happening to our planet and how it will impact the health and safety of people around the world.  It is in these times of long dark that I quietly listen for and reflect upon insights from the Otherworlds regarding these and other troubling things.
~*~

