That Frozen Instant – Haiku Catchoo!

Bite of wintry wind
Heralds craftsman of tiny
Crystalline wonders

Author’s Notes…

Having lived in Michigan the majority of my life, it is easy for me to recognize the precise point at which the chill air on my cheeks is below freezing.  That instantaneous realization seemed the perfect moment to capture in this Weekly Writing Challenge by The Daily Post.  Snow has lightly dusted the ground here over the last week or so, and the consistently chill air has kept it from melting away.  Perhaps it will be a white Christmas this year?  Not sure I am entirely happy about having to don half my wardrobe to tolerate walking from class to class, but the quiet all around is soothing to my exam-frayed nerves in any case.  The heightened awareness of presence in and with Nature is one of the ways wintertime makes my soul sing.

Here are are some more amazing photos by Alexey Kljatov of snowflakes that partially prompted this haiku.

Afterthought – Other Monday haiku entries I enjoyed and thought I should share..

Haiku of Wisdom | A String of Pearls
Ocean of Knowing | Winding Road
Our Future is Change | Outienz
Passionate Dreaming
One Eye Closes | Blackbirds Above the Marsh
Long walks and dark chocolate
Vagina | The Type Cast
Irregular Ventilator
Haiku moments | LynnSlyWrites

28 thoughts on “That Frozen Instant – Haiku Catchoo!

    1. Thank you very much 🙂 And I can appreciate some punny humor 😛 As soon as I finished the haiku, I knew I had to include those lovely photos by Alexey Kljatov ❤ I hope you check out the article most of them are linked to!

  1. Pingback: Haiku Catchoo | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  2. There used to be a website (maybe it still exists) that has hundreds of different photos of snowflakes. Those things we can’t perfectly see – snowflakes, creatures of the deep – seem miraculous. Thanks for stopping by my blog –

    1. Very true, there is a numinous quality about the things rarely seen. I hope I might find that website; I’m sure it’d be a treat. Heh, thank you for the additional clarification, very sweet 🙂

  3. Pingback: Haiku: Challenge Accepted | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: a collection of haikus | Ramisa the Authoress

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Winter Warmth – Haiku Catchoo! (Part III) | A Vital Recognition

  7. Pingback: Haiku: Traditions | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Haiku: Cycles | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku / Bubbles | A mom's blog

  10. Pingback: Haiku: Voices | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Caring Strangers – Haiku Catchoo! (Quartus) | A Vital Recognition

  12. Pingback: Haiku: Absolute | Rob's Surf Report

  13. Pingback: Pretty Bird, Pretty Bird – Haiku Catchoo! (Final Fifth) | A Vital Recognition

Leave some thoughts here about this post!